How to Make Your Tiny Space a Trendy Space

As you all probably already know, I just recently moved into my first big girl apartment, which means decorating! Unfortunately, my job pays alright, but not enough to be making any splurges any time soon. Because of that, I’ve been scouring Pinterest for a way to make my apartment look chic, yet affordable.

kallax-shelving-unit-brown__0243998_PE383248_S4

One of my favorite things I’ve come across is this Kallax Shelving Unit from IKEA. While it might look plain and simple, this inexpensive piece can be turned into just about anything.

everygirl-ikea-expedit-shelf-bar-styling

Styling As A… BAR

Obvious Necessities: Booze, alcohol, more booze, more alcohol. Your favorites, maybe some not-so favorites with a pretty looking bottle. Some nice wine glasses or a monogrammed martini shaker.

Not So Obvious, but Definitely Necessary: Some cool drink recipe chalk boards to hang above the shelving or vintage martini glasses to fill to the brim. Because who doesn’t want to pretend to be Daisy Buchanan on a casual Tuesday?

x20416

Styling As An… OFFICE

Obvious Necessities: Anything and everything to stay organized for your working life. A stapler, scissors, tape, pen jar – buy them in a cool, funky pattern to liven up the office. This kate spade one is one of my favorites. Don’t forget to get a white board! This will help you keep track of goals for you company or personal lists. It can even be good to write an inspirational quote for yourself and your peers.

Not So Obvious, but Totally Necessary: Candles. I know, I know, you shouldn’t have an open flame at work, but I think it’s important to have a soothing smell be released to the air, especially in a not so calming environment. I just picked this candle up at Anthropologie and I love the beach smell it wafts into the space.

7639a07dbe3918a95ff5b6436af51faf

Styling as a… TV CONSOLE

Obvious Necessities: Here is your place to show how much of a media junkie you are. Maybe have a cube full of books or DVDs. Make a gallery wall out of framed movie posters and movie quotes

Not So Obvious, but Totally Necessary: This could be a cool area to show off souvenirs from vacations from as far as China to as close as Maine. Make it you and make it your memories. Some pictures from traveling or even a cool antique camera would be really cute for this aesthetic.

How would you style this cubing shelf? I can’t wait to show you guys how I’m going to organize mine in my room.

Until next time – stay curious!

sig

Leave a Reply

