My First Big Girl Apartment: My Bedroom

Hello, hello, hello!!

I’m sorry that I’ve been so MIA recently. Ever since I moved into my apartment, I haven’t had a lot of downtime to work on my blog. I’ll be sure to catch you all up ASAP, but first let me tell you about one of the huge distractions – apartment decorating.

I’ve always been very into aesthetics and the feel of a room and having an apartment of my own (well, with two other girls!) has given me the chance to really explore finding fits for a room and getting everything to mesh.

My bedroom has taken a while to feel cohesive and even though it’s definitely still got a ways to go, I’m finally starting to feel content with it. I think I can give my bank account a breather finally and introduce new pieces more slowly now.

As a new young professional, it’s also been difficult to find things I like and afford. I tend to have a bit more of an expensive taste, so at times, I struggled telling myself no to outrageously priced items and finding a cheaper, similar version to make my room how I pictured it in my head.

IMG_2521-3

As you all know, I’ve very into the Kallax shelving units. Originally, I planned on using this bad boy as a nightstand, but it didn’t fit as I originally wanted, so ta da! – tv stand. My TV here isn’t that small, but add on a chromecast and my snuggly boyfriend and it doesn’t phase me. We also have a much larger TV in our family room right now. This is still a work in progress, but it’s a great way to display perfumes, nail polishes, my purse, whatever I want! I love the looks of this and it matches all of my other black-brown furniture perfectly.

IMG_2520-3

This is my little corner. Right now, I’m using one of the dressers the boys left behind when they moved out. Needless to say, it’s beyond haggard. I can barely open the drawers without them falling out and the paint job is definitely not great, but balling on a budget means it’ll do for now. I have my earrings, some pictures, and a nice little storage space for my makeup here. This is also a bit of a work in progress. Eventually, I hope to replace this dresser with something that would actually be useful.

IMG_2519-3

This is my bed from home and it’s nice to bring it all of the way to Cambridge because it makes my room feel even more cozy. I’m obsessed with the tassels my friend got me from a little boutique in CT. They really capture the entire color palette and aesthetic I’m trying to put in my room. I also love my K initial I just added to my desk. My brothers and I each have one of these because they used to be in the bathroom of my old house. It’s the little things that make my room feel like home.

IMG_2518-3

I’m currently trying to figure out how to arrange this area. As of now, it looks okay, but I’m thinking I definitely need a desk. I do a lot of work from home and unfortunately, not getting out of bed is killing my work vibes. I want to get a very small one. Just enough room for my laptop and a really cool accent chair. My boss says she has an extra one, but I just need to figure out a way to get it from the South Shore to Harvard. Once I figure out the desk situation, I’ll be able to hang my Paris painting as well.

IMG_2516

I am OBSESSED with this rug I bought. You can’t tell as much in this picture but it’s faux mink fur and it’s the softest thing ever. This was one of my bigger splurges from Home Goods, but I needed to have it. The office chair is on it’s way out because like the dresser left behind, this chair is also pretty busted. I also want a cute, decorative chair for my work desk. My room is also pretty dark unfortunately especially since it’s now dark at 5:30. I’m thinking of putting a floor lamp here, but I’m not sure if I’d like the looks of this. Part of me is thinking a desk lamp still because I’m starting to feel like there’s too much bulky furniture in my room.

I’ve added a lot of my own personal touches to this room. Somehow a lot of Parisian elements have been thrown into the mix. I also have my Harry Potter collection proudly displayed. I bought a glass skull and flamingo sheets. I have a weird sense of style because I love everything and anything – all different aesthetics.

What do you think? What do you think I should add to this room? What kind of aesthetic do you like?

I promise I’ll start being better with updates (and I’ll catch you up on the last few weeks!!).

Until next time though – stay curious!

sig

Leave a Reply

