Ch-Ch-Changes: Skincare

12063359_10207974276061644_4326582762455223399_n.jpg

I’m going to be completely 100% honest with you. If I had to pick the thing I’m most self conscious about, I would immediately pick my skin. This is my skin on a better day and even looking at this, it takes a whole lot in me not to open up an app and “Beautify” myself. (Yes, that’s what the tool to eliminate acne is called and yes, it does feel like a sucker punch.)

Although my complexion has gotten miles better, I’ve never had good skin. I was picked on in middle school. One boy even called me “Pepperoni Face.” My mom let me wear makeup on my face because I used to cry about it. I’ve always envied the girls who have flawless skin and my pet peeve is when someone complains about a “huge zit” on their otherwise perfect complexion.

I’ve tried just about everything. I was on topical medication and oral medication;I saw a dermatologist every few months. Nothing seemed to work. Finally, I tried Accutane. And even though it definitely improved my skin, it’s nowhere near perfect and my skin is still a lot drier than it’s ever been.

I still tried all sorts of products, hoping to find that magical cure and give me radiant skin. I’ll go through phases where something seems to be working, but then, I’ll have a horrible, unredeemable breakout all over my face.

I wonder if it’s hormones, if it’s my diet, or if it’s the lack of water in my diet. And I still wonder if there’s still something else out there that I have yet to try.

And that’s where you can join me. I’m going to keep trying until I find something that works for me. I’m not going to give up. Someday, I won’t have to feel self-conscious about my skin and hide it behind a mask of concealer and foundation to feel pretty.

My skin routine changes from time to time, but starting today (until my update/change-up), this is the scheduled path for my skincare.

In the AM:

s1478262-main-hero.jpg

[ NARS Gentle Cream Cleanser ]

While I’m shampooing and conditioning my hair, I scrub this cleanser into my face, neck, and chest. I let it sit for a bit to soak and suds into my skin and rinse it off into the shower. This creamy, moisture-rich formula helps maintain skin’s moisture balance while removing makeup and impurities. What’s great about NARS skin is that it’s formulated with NARS exclusive Light Reflecting Complex, a natural oil known for its hydrating and moisturizing abilities.

Moisturizing-Lotion-12oz_strait.png

Cerave Moisturizing Lotion ]

I’ve been using this lotion as long as I’ve been going to the dermatologist and I honestly swear by it. This lotion has long-term benefits to nourish and moisturize the skin throughout the day. This lotion is also great on other dryer areas of your body. I use it on my elbows and knees during the summer months.

In the PM:

shopping.jpeg

[ Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover ]

I am the WORST at taking my makeup off. Especially after a long night out, the last thing I want to do is to take the time to take off all of my eye makeup. I really trying to get into a better habit for both my eyelashes’ and skin’s sake to make them healthier. I’ve been using this makeup remover for a bit, but I’m not sure how I feel about it just yet. It seems a bit oily and makes my eyelids feel a bit gross from the remover. I’m thinking about looking into wipes to remove my makeup at the end of the day. Do you have any suggestions?

6802463_320x385shopping-2.jpeg

Neutrogena Acne Cleanser | Clarisonic MIA 2 ]

Although I couldn’t find the actual face wash I use, I interchange between which cleansers I like to use on my skin. I have yet to find my favorite one, so I’m open to any suggestions you might have.

I also recently purchased a Clarisonic MIA 2 and I can’t wait to see what type of effect it has on my complexion. I bought an acne brush head for my MIA 2. Can’t wait to let you know the results!

_6035500.jpg

I have heard great things about this drying lotion, so I’ll definitely let you know if lives up to it’s raving reviews. Simply use a q tip, dip it in the lotion, and dab it on each of your problem spots. As of now, it burns a little and makes my skin a bit dry, but my skin is already starting to look better!

Weekly:

mary-kay-botanical-effects-mask-formula-2-h.png

[ Mary Kay Face Mask ]

This looks nothing like the packaging I own for this mask, but it shows you how long I’ve been using it! This helps shrink down my pores, especially on my nose. Whenever I use this mask, my acne seems a lot less noticeable afterwards as well. My mom first introduced me to this product when I was 13 and I’ve been using it ever since.

I can’t wait to start this skincare journey with you as I try to find the perfect solution. I’m also here for any questions about what medications, treatments, cleansers, Accutane – anything I’ve tried!

Until next time – stay curious!

sig1

 

Leave a Reply

